Ask your Questions about
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)


Contact Us | En Español

ADA Information for:

Go »

Find your ADA Center

Go »

National ADA Training

Share this Page
Print this Page

Announcing a New Webinar Series: Emergency Management and Preparedness - Including People with Disabilities

October 2, 2014
Source: Pacific ADA Center

The Office of Disability Integration & Coordination (ODIC) at the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) National Network, led by the Pacific ADA Center, have joined forces to offer monthly webinars.

When: Beginning October 9, 2014, the webinars will share issues and promising practices in emergency management and preparedness inclusive of people with disabilities and others with access and functional needs.

Who should attend: The webinars will provide an exciting opportunity for emergency managers, people with disabilities, first responders, planners, community organizations, and other community partners to exchange knowledge and information on promising practices in inclusive emergency preparedness for the whole community.

What will be covered: Topics will relate to emergency preparedness and disaster response, recovery and mitigation as well as accessibility and reasonable accommodation issues under the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA) and other relevant laws. Six of the webinars will be “FEMA Promising Practices” and the other six will be “ADA National Network Learning Sessions.”

The FIRST webinar of the series is:
ADA National Network Learning Session: Effective Communications for Deaf and Hard of Hearing
October 9, 2014
Time: 2:30pm ET/1:30pm CT/12:30 pm MT/11:30am PT/8:30am Hawaii

Description: In an emergency, communication is crucial to the safety of all citizens. What happens to persons who are deaf, hard of hearing, or deaf blind during an emergency? This session will explore how the effective communication provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act apply in emergency situations. What happens when interpreters are not available? What technologies are important to incorporate during the notification, sheltering, evacuation and recovery stages? Implementation and culturally affirmative communication strategies will also be discussed.

Presenter: Candice Alder Outreach Consultant for the Colorado Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (CCDHH) will offer best practice solutions and compliance strategies that provide greater access for persons who are deaf or hard of hearing. In addition to providing training seminars on the ADA, Candice has worked in conjunction with several state, county and city government agencies on providing greater communication access through outreach, consultation and technical assistance efforts. She also provided trainings to deaf and hard of hearing communities on their rights - while educating businesses and government agencies on their responsibilities under the ADA since 2002 as an ADA expert and trainer. She interned at the Colorado School for the Deaf and Blind (CSDB).

Registration: Free, on-line at

These 90 minute webinars are delivered using the Blackboard Collaborate webinar platform and all sessions will be fully accessible and real time captioned for people who are deaf or hard of hearing.

To view all of the sessions for the coming year, or to see previous sessions, go to

Link: Go to website for News Source

Contact UsTerms of UseDisclaimerAccessibility
©2018, Syracuse University. All rights reserved.

[Partners Login]